Focus and Scope

Radical Orthodoxy: A Journal of Theology, Philosophy and Politics is an internationally peer reviewed journal dedicated to the exploration of academic and policy debates that interface between theology, philosophy and the social sciences. 

RO:TPP welcomes submissions from scholars and intellectuals with interesting and relevant things to say about both the nature and trajectory of the times in which we live.  The journal intends to publish papers on all branches of philosophy, theology aesthetics (including literary, art and music criticism) as well as pieces on ethical, political, social, economic and cultural theory.

The journal will pursue an innovative editorial policy by publishing pieces both longer and shorter than those typically published in mainstream academic journals (alongside those of standard length). It also seeks to publish work of a more artistic or poetic mode---be it fiction, poetry, or art. 

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Journal History

Editorial Team

Editor – Dritëro Demjaha (Oxford)

Managing Editor – Eric Austin Lee (University of Nottingham)

Interviews Editor – Conor Cunningham (University of Nottingham)

Reviews Editor – Brendan Sammon (St. Joseph's University)

Poetry and Fiction Editor – Alison Milbank (University of Nottingham)

Editorial Board

  • John Milbank (University of Nottingham)
  • Conor Cunningham (University of Nottingham)
  • Adrian Pabst (University of Kent)
  • Aaron Riches (Benedictine College, Atchison, KS)
  • Catherine Pickstock (University of Cambridge)
  • Michael Hanby (John-Paul II Institute, Washington, D. C.)
  • Simon Oliver (University of Durham)
  • Tracey Rowland (John-Paul II Institute, Melbourne)
  • Alessandra Gerolin (Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan)
  • Andrew Davison (University of Cambridge)

Advisory board:

  • Talal Asad
  • William Bain
  • John Behr
  • John Betz
  • Oliva Blanchette
  • Phillip Blond
  • David Burrell
  • David Fergusson
  • Maurice Glasman
  • Boris Gunjević
  • David Bentley Hart
  • Johannes Hoff
  • Stanley Hauerwas
  • Johannes Hoff
  • Austen Ivereigh
  • Fergus Kerr, O.P.
  • Peter Leithart
  • Joost van Loon
  • James Macmillan
  • Archbishop Javier Martínez
  • Alison Milbank
  • Michael Northcott
  • Nick Rengger
  • Michael Symmons Roberts
  • Charles Taylor
  • Rudi te Velde
  • Graham Ward
  • Thomas G. Weinandy, O. F. M., Cap.
  • Slavoj Žižek

Christopher Ben Simpson - Editor from August 2013 to June 2016

Neil Turnbull – Editor from 2012 to August 2013

Aaron Riches - Reviews Editor from 2012 to August 2013